Intralinks Developer Portal

Users are given access to the content in an exchange by being assigned one of the following roles.

 

Manager Plus

This is the highest level of all the exchange roles. Users who are assigned this role are allowed to perform every task and to view all users on the exchange. This role is sometimes abbreviated as "manager+." Most exchanges include users with this role.

 

Hidden Manager Plus

This exchange role is identical to that of manager plus, except that these managers will be hidden from users with publishing and reviewing exchange roles. That is, these managers’ names will not appear in lists of users viewed by publishers and reviewers (they will be visible to other managers, however). Hidden managers should be careful about posting documents because these items will reveal their names to publishers and reviewers. This role sometimes is abbreviated as "(manager+)."

 

Manager

This exchange role is similar to that of manager plus, with one exception: users with this role may be given permission to delete and modify documents. This role is seldom used.

 

Manager Limited

This exchange role is similar to that of manager plus, with one exception: users with this role must be given permission to add, delete and modify documents. In addition, users with this role cannot create or update user groups. This role sometimes is abbreviated as “manager ltd.” This role is seldom used.

 

Publisher Plus

This exchange role is able to perform all tasks related to publishing and managing documents (ILP). People with this role also can update user groups and exchange settings for the footer and splash screen and can change the exchange’s phase. People with this role can see all other users (except those with the hidden manager plus exchange role) and can be seen by all other users. This role sometimes is abbreviated as "publisher+."

 

Publisher

People with this exchange role can post new documents and can respond to the comments they have been given permission to see. These users may be given permission to modify or delete documents and publications/comments. People with this role can see all other users (except those with the hidden manager plus role) and can be seen by all other users. This role is seldom used.

 

Reviewer Plus

In addition to reviewing documents, users with this exchange role are able to add and remove reviewers from the exchange and create user groups. This role sometimes is abbreviated as "reviewer+." This role is rarely used.

 

Previewer

People with this exchange role can view, print, and download documents. Previewers are active in the preparation and open stages of the exchange’s life cycle; they often are members of the organization hosting the exchange. Unless they are assigned to a collaboration group or a buyer group, previewers will not be able to see other reviewers or previewers taking part in the exchange.

** When the "Allow Reviewers and Previewers to Add Documents to Selected Folders" setting is enabled, previewers are able to upload documents to specific folders that are designated by an exchange manager. Previewers can modify and delete a document they upload, as well as send a document alert to users with default document permissions in the exchange. They cannot set permissions on the documents they upload.

 

Reviewer

People assigned this exchange role have the same rights as previewers, but are active only during the open phase of the exchange’s life cycle. Reviewers generally are members of organizations other than the organization hosting the exchange. In a typical exchange, most users will be reviewers. Unless they are assigned to a collaboration group or a buyer group, reviewers cannot see other reviewers or previewers taking part in the exchange.

** When the "Allow Reviewers and Previewers to Add Documents to Selected Folders" setting is enabled, reviewers are able to upload documents to specific folders that are designated by an exchange manager. Reviewers can modify and delete a document they upload, as well as send a document alert to users with default document permissions in the exchange. They cannot set permissions on the documents they upload.